One year … a lot can change, yet some things remain the same.

Resilience is all about being able to overcome the unexpected. Sustainability is about survival. The goal of resilience is to thrive.”  – Jamais Cascio

Tomorrow will mark a year since I had my hip/joint and femur replaced! One year, friends. Holy crap!

I remember how terrified I was of that surgery. How many times I questioned the outcome. What if – should I – how about – you name it, I thought it. The reality was that I didn’t have a choice. The surgery needed to happen, and so, it did.

Here we are, one year later. A lot has changed, yet some things remain the same. I am working my ass off at physical and occupational therapy! And I have to tell you, it is NOT freaking easy! Learning to walk after 3+ years is HARD.

Thankfully, I am in a far better place than I was, yet, I have a way to go. A year ago I couldn’t walk 80 steps ON.MY.OWN!! No crutches, no cart, just me and my two legs. AMAZING. A year ago I didn’t feel as healthy as I do now. A year ago I didn’t know how much I was capable of, but I sure as heck do now.

Even though I still can’t drive, work, or do many of the things I want to do, I am getting there. I am reaching new goals. Feeling a little more confident in each new day and my soul is healing.

My friends and I still can’t believe that I am “high maintenance” after all of this time. Health issues take a toll on people and relationships and that is just how life is. The enormity and stress of it all will test the patience and resilience of a person. Stay strong! Tomorrow is a new day to start over and begin again. No-one ever said that this life would be easy, friends.

So here we are, a year later. Better. Stronger. Still working hard. Improving. Moving forward. Making it happen. WALKING. Freaking WALKING!!! (Okay, really only taking 80 steps, but, c’mon! That is awesome sauce!)

Whatever battle you are going through – don’t ever give up. You can work through it. It may not be easy, but it will certainly be worth it.

Until next time, be well and go out and do a random act of kindness!

Jewels

 

 

13 thoughts on “One year … a lot can change, yet some things remain the same.

  1. You make me smile : )
    I know your journey is hard but your one of the toughest people I know!
    You got this!

    Like

  2. I think you are totally AWESOME sauce!!! You inspire me, thank you, wiser words have never been spoken! Walking Jewel!! Walking!! I wish I could see you but want you to know I am SO glad to hear this, I know you’re working SO hard and that you have such a reserve of strength! I hope every day gets better and better – sending you a big congratulatory HUG!!

    Cyndi Visi

    MOBILE: 413 627-6556 EMAIL: cyndivisi@yahoo.com Private E-FAX 1 815 550-2073

    Like

Leave a comment